China Lens Guide

Digital Nomad Bases in China: 6 Coliving Communities Compared (2026)

China has dozens of announced nomad villages. This list carries only the ones that are open today and have an operating record somebody outside the operator has written about, so a place with residents is never sitting next to a press release. Prices, rooms, contacts and locations come from operator listings and dated reporting, cross-checked on 6 September 2026. Every base here was built for Chinese remote workers, and none publishes whether it takes a foreign passport, so we are asking them one by one. A base shows “confirmed with the operator” only once it has answered us directly.

Open bases
6
Published monthly prices, dorm bed to apartment
¥300–¥4,300

Map

Map loading…

Pins mark the town or district, not the front door. Green is open, ochre is a soft launch.

Compare

6 bases shown
BaseWhereStatusMonthlyRoomsSettingForeignersSource
Tiaohai Living, Nantou Ancient City
深圳·跳海Living
Shenzhen
Guangdong
Open¥3,600–¥4,300long-stay apartment, 2-bed, 4-bed, 6-bed hostel dormurban, old town, convenient, winter-warmAccepts foreign passportsSeptember 2026
Caojing Digital Nomad International Village
上海·漕泾数字游民国际村
Shanghai
Shanghai
Open¥900–¥3,600bed in a 3-person ensuite room, bed in a twin, loft double, ensuite double, twin ensuite, villa ensuite double, resort hotel and guesthouse roomslawn, countryside, urban-edge, convenientNot confirmedSeptember 2026
CYC Dali (formerly Dali 706)
大理·CYC链岛社区
Dali
Yunnan
Open¥1,280–¥4,100single, double, 4-bedlake, summer-cool, convenient, old townNot confirmedJune 2026
NCC Dali
大理·NCC
Dali
Yunnan
Open¥900–¥3,200single with ensuite, second bedroom in a shared unit, 4-bed dorm, suitemountain, lake, summer-cool, convenientNot confirmedSeptember 2026
DN Yucun
安吉·DN余村
Anji
Zhejiang
Open¥300–¥1,100single, double, 4-bed, 6-bedcountryside, mountain, lawn, convenientNot confirmedSeptember 2026
DNA Digital Nomad Anji
安吉·DNA数字游民公社
Anji
Zhejiang
Open¥1,960–¥2,980container single (1–2 people), 2-bed, 4-bed dorm, 6-bed dormcountryside, bamboo hills, tea fieldsNot confirmedSeptember 2026

Every base, in detail

Tiaohai Living, Nantou Ancient City

深圳·跳海LivingOpen

Shenzhen (Nantou Ancient City, Nanshan district), Guangdong

  • The entrance to Tiaohai Living on a lane in Nantou Ancient City, Shenzhen, under the orange 跳海 LIVING sign
    跳海Living, Operator photo
  • The blue-tiled check-in desk at Tiaohai Living, under a pixel-lettered 跳海 Living sign
    跳海Living, Operator photo
  • Shared washer-dryers for guests at Tiaohai Living, below a framed 有人跳海 sign
    跳海Living, Operator photo

Not a village commune but the closest thing Shenzhen has: two adjacent buildings in Nantou Ancient City run by the Tiaohai bar chain, opened 12 September 2025. One building is 13 long-stay apartments, the other a 33-room, 108-bed hostel, with Tiaohai's own bar, a bakery and a coffee shop at street level. An “in-place experience” programme pairs guests with local residents and resident nomads who host activities. Shenzhen is the obvious base for anyone building hardware or needing Hong Kong an hour away.

Monthly price
¥3,600–¥4,300
Rooms
long-stay apartment, 2-bed, 4-bed, 6-bed hostel dorm
Setting
urban, old town, convenient, winter-warm
Minimum stay
Not stated publicly
Foreign passports
Accepts foreign passportsPassport only, no nationality or visa condition. Registers guests at check-in as a licensed hotel, so the 24-hour police registration is handled for you.
English on site
Not stated publicly
Payment
Bookable through Booking.com and Trip.com, which take international cards. WeChat Pay or Alipay on site.
Internet
Not stated publicly

Price note · ¥3,600–4,300 a month is for the 13 long-stay apartments (press, Sept–Oct 2025). The hostel building is priced per bed per night: 2-bed ¥180–200, 4-bed ¥150–160, 6-bed ¥120–140, so a month in a 6-bed dorm is roughly ¥3,600–4,200.

Getting there · Shenzhen Bao'an airport is about 25 minutes by taxi; from Hong Kong, cross at Futian or Shenzhen Bay and take Metro Line 12 to Nantou Ancient City station.

Contact

Sources

  1. Operator’s guest services, on the base’s policy for foreign guests — 7 September 2026
  2. LatePost (晚点) via Tencent News, “靠野生和业余,开酒馆的跳海做了一间酒店” (opening date, room counts, rents) — 14 September 2025
  3. Tencent News, “跳海酒馆做住宿,是讲故事还是真本事?” (bed prices, 13 apartments, 33 hostel rooms / 108 beds) — 13 October 2025
  4. Huxiu, “‘网红’酒馆跳海开公寓,一般人不让住” — 13 October 2025
  5. Booking.com listing for TIAOHAI Living Hostel and Backpackers (street address, facilities) — 7 September 2026
  6. Trip.com listing, Tiaohai Living Hotel (Nantou Ancient City Branch), 137 guest reviews — 7 September 2026

Confirmed with the operator on 7 September 2026. Send a correction

Caojing Digital Nomad International Village

上海·漕泾数字游民国际村Open

Shanghai (Caojing town, Jinshan district), Shanghai

Shanghai's first official nomad community, opened in September 2024 in Caojing, a farming town on Hangzhou Bay at the city's southern edge. More than a hundred rooms spread across rural townhouses, a waterside complex and guesthouses, with dining, gym and event space on site. The most spacious and cheapest way to have a Shanghai address, at the cost of a long ride into the centre.

Monthly price
¥900–¥3,600
Rooms
bed in a 3-person ensuite room, bed in a twin, loft double, ensuite double, twin ensuite, villa ensuite double, resort hotel and guesthouse rooms
Setting
lawn, countryside, urban-edge, convenient
Minimum stay
None published. The operator quotes 1, 7, 15 and 30-day rates.
Foreign passports
Not yet confirmed with the operatorNamed an international village by the Shanghai municipal government; accommodation includes licensed guesthouses and hotels, which normally can register foreign guests. Not yet confirmed with the operator.
English on site
Not stated publicly
Payment
¥500 room deposit before check-in (operator rate card). Payment method not stated publicly.
Internet
Not stated publicly

Price note · The operator publishes a full rate card for the 16 rural-villa rooms: 30 days runs ¥900 for a bed in a three-person ensuite room to ¥3,100 for a villa ensuite double, with a ¥500 deposit and 14:00 checkout. Shorter stays are quoted at 1, 7 and 15 days; a week costs roughly 40% of the month. The village also has a resort hotel and a boutique guesthouse whose rates that document does not give, and the youmin.co listing quotes up to ¥3,600.

Getting there · Jinshan Railway from Shanghai South station to Jinshanwei takes about 35 minutes, then 20 minutes by taxi; driving from central Shanghai is about an hour.

Contact

  • Operator: 原乡映客 (Yuanxiang Yingke) with Caojing town government
  • WeChat official account (search): 漕泾数字游民国际村
  • Room types and rates (operator document): Caojing village rate card
  • Booking: Apply through the 上海漕泾数字游民国际村 WeChat official account
  • Xiaohongshu: 上海漕泾数字游民国际村
  • Address: 上海市金山区 上海漕泾郊野公园水窠景区游客中心(长堰路南)

Sources

  1. Shanghai Municipal Government, “上海首个‘数字游民’示范社区落地金山漕泾镇” (100+ rooms, townhouses, guesthouses, facilities) — 1 September 2024
  2. 原乡映客 (Yuanxiang Yingke), “上海漕泾数字游民国际村【入住房型】” operator rate card (16 villa room types, 1/7/15/30-day prices, ¥500 deposit) — 17 June 2026
  3. youmin.co aggregator listing (third-party, not the operator) — 6 September 2026

Details from the operator's public listing and press coverage, cross-checked 6 September 2026. Not yet confirmed with the operator. Send a correction

CYC Dali (formerly Dali 706)

大理·CYC链岛社区Open

Dali (south gate of the old town), Yunnan

An open co-living community by the old town's south gate, formerly known as Dali 706 (an offshoot of Beijing's 706 Youth Space). CYC describes itself as “linking every isolated island”: less curated than NCC, more drop-in, with a mix of nomads, gap-year travellers and people between jobs. The cheapest way to plug into Dali's scene if you are happy in a dorm.

Monthly price
¥1,280–¥4,100
Rooms
single, double, 4-bed
Setting
lake, summer-cool, convenient, old town
Minimum stay
Not stated publicly
Foreign passports
Not yet confirmed with the operator
English on site
Not stated publicly
Payment
Not stated publicly
Internet
Not stated publicly

Price note · Monthly range is from the operator's listing. Press reports quote bed rates of roughly ¥50–100+ per night, which fits the low end of the range.

Getting there · Fly to Dali (DLU) or high-speed train from Kunming (about 2 hours), then 30–40 minutes by taxi to the old town's south gate.

Contact

  • WeChat official account (search): CYC链岛
  • Booking (customer service WeChat ID): cycassistant
  • Xiaohongshu: CYC链岛青年社区
  • Address: 云南省大理市大理古城月溪村 (long-stay rooms are at the 文献路 生活实验室 site)

Sources

  1. Foresight News, “全国 18 家数字游民社区汇总” (CYC profile) — 3 April 2025
  2. Tencent News, “打旅居牌的江南小城,看中不上班的数字游民” (Dali bed rates) — 16 January 2025
  3. Nomad Magazine, “China Digital Nomad Map” (CYC as a co-created community) — 26 June 2026

Details from the operator's public listing and press coverage, cross-checked 6 September 2026. Not yet confirmed with the operator. Send a correction

NCC Dali

大理·NCCOpen

Dali (old town area), Yunnan

The first site of the NCC (Nomad Co-living & Co-creating) network, opened in May 2023 between the Cangshan mountains and Erhai lake. Built around an application-and-participation model rather than a hotel: you apply, you join the weekly programme, and you are expected to contribute. Capacity about 100. Dali itself is the most international of China's nomad towns, with a long-standing foreign community and plenty of cafés that double as workspaces.

Monthly price
¥900–¥3,200
Rooms
single with ensuite, second bedroom in a shared unit, 4-bed dorm, suite
Setting
mountain, lake, summer-cool, convenient
Minimum stay
Two weeks minimum, all room types (operator listing)
Foreign passports
Not yet confirmed with the operator
English on site
Not stated publicly
Payment
Not stated publicly
Internet
Not stated publicly

Price note · Operator listing: private room with ensuite from ¥900 a month, 4-bed dorm ¥900 a week. Weekly and daily rates are also published; all rooms require a two-week minimum.

Getting there · Fly to Dali (DLU) or take the high-speed train from Kunming (about 2 hours). From Dali station, the old town is 30–40 minutes by taxi.

Contact

  • WeChat official account: NCC社区
  • Booking: Apply through the 游牧岛 mini-program inside WeChat
  • Xiaohongshu: NCC共居共创社区
  • Address: 云南省大理市葱园村114号

Sources

  1. youmin.co aggregator listing (third-party, not the operator) (prices, two-week minimum, capacity 100) — 6 September 2026
  2. Foresight News, “全国 18 家数字游民社区汇总” (NCC network profile: Dali, Kunshan, Sanya, Huangshan) — 3 April 2025
  3. Eleduck community post on NCC Dali — 6 September 2026
  4. Nomad Magazine, “China Digital Nomad Map” (NCC and CYC in Dali, weekly activities) — 26 June 2026

Details from the operator's public listing and press coverage, cross-checked 6 September 2026. Not yet confirmed with the operator. Send a correction

DN Yucun

安吉·DN余村Open

Anji (Tianhuangping town, Yucun village), Zhejiang

DNA's second, larger site in Yucun, the model village that China's rural-revitalisation campaign is named after. Over 7,000 m² indoors, 51 rooms for about 140 people, and the cheapest beds in the network. Village-government partnership means good infrastructure and a steady stream of official visitors.

Monthly price
¥300–¥1,100
Rooms
single, double, 4-bed, 6-bed
Setting
countryside, mountain, lawn, convenient
Minimum stay
Not stated publicly
Foreign passports
Not yet confirmed with the operator
English on site
Not stated publicly
Payment
Not stated publicly
Internet
Not stated publicly

Price note · ¥300 is the cheapest shared-room bed per month; singles reach ¥1,100. Press reports for the DNA/DN network put beds in 2-person-plus rooms at ¥300–600 per person per month.

Getting there · Same gateway as DNA: Hangzhou East → Anji by high-speed rail (about 40 minutes), then 25–35 minutes by car to Tianhuangping. DNA and DN Yucun are 37 km apart.

Contact

  • WeChat official account (same team as DNA): DNA数字游民
  • Booking (customer service WeChat ID): DNcn2023
  • Address: 浙江省湖州市安吉县天荒坪镇青来集人才社区 余村数字游民公社

Sources

  1. youmin.co aggregator listing (third-party, not the operator) (from ¥300/month) — 6 September 2026
  2. 163.com, “打造‘数字游民’公社的安吉样本” (51 rooms, 140 beds, 7,000 m², per-person prices) — 9 September 2024
  3. Nomad Magazine, “China Digital Nomad Map” (DNA network in Yucun) — 26 June 2026

Details from the operator's public listing and press coverage, cross-checked 6 September 2026. Not yet confirmed with the operator. Send a correction

DNA Digital Nomad Anji

安吉·DNA数字游民公社Open

Anji (Xilong township, Hengshan village), Zhejiang

China's first purpose-built nomad commune: a former bamboo-processing factory in the tea hills outside Anji, opened in 2022 by author Xu Song with local-government backing. Around 75 rooms, most of them converted shipping containers, plus a shared kitchen, coworking floor, gym and workshop spaces. It is the place most Chinese nomads mean when they say “the commune”, and the one foreign press has covered most.

Monthly price
¥1,960–¥2,980
Rooms
container single (1–2 people), 2-bed, 4-bed dorm, 6-bed dorm
Setting
countryside, bamboo hills, tea fields
Minimum stay
Not stated on the listing; the 2023 member survey put the average stay at 58 days
Foreign passports
Not yet confirmed with the operator
English on site
Not stated publicly
Payment
Not stated publicly
Internet
Not stated publicly

Price note · Monthly figures are for the container single rooms (phase 1 ¥1,960, phase 2 ¥2,980). Dorm beds are priced per week on the operator's listing: 6-bed ¥440, 4-bed ¥640, 2-bed ¥1,080 — roughly ¥1,900–4,600 a month if you stay four weeks.

Getting there · Hangzhou is the gateway: high-speed rail from Hangzhou East to Anji takes about 40 minutes, then a 30–40 minute taxi or DiDi to Xilong township. Shanghai Hongqiao to Anji is about 1.5 hours by train.

Contact

  • WeChat official account: DNA数字游民
  • Booking (customer service WeChat ID): suosuo-dna
  • Address: 浙江省湖州市安吉县溪龙乡横山村 DNA数字游民社区

Sources

  1. youmin.co aggregator listing (third-party, not the operator) (room types, prices, contact) — 6 September 2026
  2. The World of Chinese, “Remote Freedom: The Cost of Utopia for China’s Digital Nomads” — 23 February 2023
  3. The Washington Post, “Digital nomad communes force China to consider new ways of working” — 22 September 2025
  4. 163.com, “打造‘数字游民’公社的安吉样本” (prices, capacity) — 9 September 2024

Details from the operator's public listing and press coverage, cross-checked 6 September 2026. Not yet confirmed with the operator. Send a correction

Price conflicts we found

Where an operator’s listing and press coverage disagree, or a listing mixes weekly and monthly rates, we show the figure we trust most in the table and explain the rest here.

Researched but not listed

These four come up in every roundup of Chinese nomad villages. We looked at each one and left it out for now, for the reason given. We will add any of them once it is open and somebody other than its operator has written about how it runs.

Zhangjiang Digital Nomad OPC Community 张江数字游民OPC生态社区 · Pudong, Shanghai
Launched in July 2026 and still described as a soft launch by its operator. Rooms, prices and admission rules are all provisional.
Hainan Digital Nomad International Island 海南数字游民国际岛 · Lingshui, Hainan
Provincial media reports a trial run since August 2025 and more than 100 residents, but the only published price comes from a single listing and the pilot's terms are still moving.
DN Huangshan DN黄山 · Huangshan, Anhui
Appears on its operator's booking platform and in one industry roundup. We found no reporting on the site itself, so we cannot vouch for how it runs.
NCC Huangshan (Heiduo Island) NCC黑多岛 · Yi County, Huangshan, Anhui
Known only from two community roundups. No operator listing with current prices, and no independent reporting on the site.

How this list is made

A base is listed here when three things are true: it is open now, not announced or in soft launch; its operation is documented by established press or a government notice, not only by its own listing; and it has been running for roughly a year or more. Prices and room types come from each operator’s own listing where one exists, otherwise from the most recent dated press report, and every source is linked under the base. Photos are Creative Commons images of the base’s town or landscape, credited under each one.

Run a base, stayed at one, or spotted a wrong number? Send a correction and we will update the page with the date.

Read next: Can foreigners stay at Chinese digital nomad villages? · How much does a base cost?